Friday , December 14 2018

Savirtribai Phule Pune University

Savitribai Phule Pune University earlier known as the University of Pune and University of Poona was founded in 1949 in Pune, India. The university is named after Savitri Bai Phule a woman who has contributed towards the empowerment of women through education. There many colleges and institutes affiliated with Savitribai Phule Pune University primarily in Pune. There are various undergraduate and postgraduate offered by these colleges. There is a total of 52 academic departments under Savitribai Phule Pune University. This article contains some of the important details like admission process, fee structure etc about the university to help the students who want to apply for Savitribai Phule University.

As mentioned above there are 43 departments under Savitribai Phule Pune University and the list below contains the names of some of the departments.

  • Department of Anthropology
  • The Department of Law
  • The Department of Zoology
  • Department of Media and Communication Studies (DMCS)
  • The Department of Geography
  • Department of Geoscience
  • The Institute of Bioinformatics and Biotechnology
  • The Department of Chemistry
  • The Department of Microbiology
  • The Department of Materials Science.
  • The Department of Management Sciences (PUMBA)
  • Department of Biotechnology
  • The Department of Environmental Science
  • Department of Education
  • Computer Science Department (PUCSD)
  • Department of Psychology
  • The Department of Physics
  • Atmospheric and Space Sciences
  • The Department of Electronic Science
  • The Department of Instrumentation Science (USIC)
  • The Centre for Modeling and Simulation (CMS)
  • Department of Linguistics
  • The Department of Statistics
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Politics and Public Administration
  • The Department of Economics
  • Department of Architecture
  • Department of Defence & Strategic Studies
  • Department of Urban Studies & Planning
  • The Department of Foreign Languages 
  • The Department of Technology
  • Competition Exam Center (CEC)
  • Skill Development Centre
  • Information Technology(IT) Cell

Admission Process

Savtribai Phule Pune University courses are offered by the affiliated colleges. The admissions into the various postgraduate and undergraduate courses are done by the individual college and there is no central authority that looks after the admissions. Each college has its own eligibility criteria, fee structure etc.  Savitribai Phule Pune University offers graduate and postgraduate courses in 52 departments and the admission process of each department is different. For details about the admissions criteria the students have to contact the individual colleges and departments and the candidates who are applying for the admissions has the facility to apply for more than course.


The university has been ranked amongst the top 10 universities in India and there are a lot of universities in India and to rank amongst the top 10 universities is a very big thing. This university has some very good faculties and this university has some notable alumni and faculties. The names of some of its alumni are Sharad Pawar, Pratibha Patel etc. The table below contains the details of ranking of Savitribai Phule Pune University in and around India.

University rankings
General – international
QS (Asia) (2018)207
Times (World) (2018)601-800
Times (BRICS) (2017)143
Times (Asia) (2018)188
General – India
NIRF (Overall) (2018)16
NIRF (Universities) (2018)9


Contact Details

Ganeshkhind, Pune, Maharashtra 411007

Official Website

Fee Structure

The table below contains the fee structure of some of the courses of Savitribai Phule Pune University.

S.NoCoursesFee StructureDuration
1.Master of Business Administration [MBA] (Pharma-Biotech)65,000/year2 Years
2.Post Graduate Diploma Programme in the Spanish Language —1 Year
3.Bachelor of Performing Arts [BPA]26,090/year
3 Years
4.Master of Technology [M.Tech]60,625/year
2 Years
5.Master of Technology [M.Tech] + Ph.D102,075/year
5 Years
6.Master of Performing Arts [MPA]36,980/year
2 Years
7. Master of Laws [L.L.M] 27,700/year
 2 Years
8. Master of Journalism and Mass Communication [MJMC] 6,200/year
2 Years
9. Master of Computer Applications [M.C.A] 30,046/year
 3 Years
10. Master of Education [M.Ed] — 2 Years
11. Master of Business Administration [MBA] (Executive) 76,464/year
 2 Years
12. Ph.D 6,000/year
 3 Years
13. PhD (Defence & Strategic Studies) — 3 Years
14. Master of Philosophy [M.Phil] 5,455/yea 2 Years
15. Master of Science [M.Sc] 1,600/year
 2 Years
16. Master of Arts [M.A] 1,000/year
 2 Years
17. Bachelor of Vocational Studies [B.Voc] — 4 Years
18. Master of Science [M.Sc] {Tech} 31,038/year
 1 Year 6 Months
19. Diploma — 1 Year
20. Master of Commerce [M.Com] 1,000/year
 2 Years
21. Master in Personnel Management (MPM) — 2 Years
22. Master in Management Studies [M.M.S] — 2 Years
23. Master of Library and Information Science [M.Lib.I.Sc] — 2 Years
24. Master in Labour Laws and Labour Welfare — 2 Years
25. Bachelor of Science [B.Sc] (Applied GIS and Remote Sensing) — 3 Years
25.Master of Public Health [MPH] —2 Years
27.Post Graduate Diploma6,770/year
1 Year
28.Advance Diploma5,200/year
1 Year
1 Year
30.Certificate in Women’s Empowerment and Development [CWED] —6 Months